Sydney FC continue winning streak with two more award winners named

Sydney FC midfielder Milos Ninkovic has been named the Football Media Association’s player of the year for 2016-17, while Sydney FC has won the club of the year for the third consecutive season.

Ninkovic was the stand-out player for the A-League according to members of the FMA.

He is widely lauded as having an outstanding season for the Sky Blues, and has been a pivotal part of their imperious form which sees them as favourites for this weekend’s A-League grand final. Last night, Ninkovic was awarded the Johnny Warren Medal for the best player in the A-League voted by the players.

Ninkovic’s average score from football media members was 9.6 points (from 10) followed by Diego Castro of Perth Glory on 7.4 and James Troisi (Melbourne Victory) and Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar) equal third on 6.1 points.

Other nominees (in order of voting) were Danny Vukovic, Alex Wilkinson, Alex Brosque (all Sydney FC), Besart Berisha (Melbourne Victory), Thomas Kristensen (Brisbane Roar) and Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City).

FMA also named Sydney FC as the Club of the Year for the third consecutive year, polling 8.2 points.

The award is given in recognition of a club’s relationship with, and responsiveness to, the football media in their day-to-day dealings throughout the A-League season.

FMA said it is a credit to Sydney FC’s media team of David Warriner and Cameron Laundry that they maintained such a high standard of professionalism over three years.

The runners-up were Central Coast Mariners on 6.5 points followed by Adelaide United with 5.9 points.

The remaining clubs in order of voting were Newcastle Jets, Melbourne City, Perth Glory, Wellington Phoenix, Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Victory and Western Sydney Wanderers.

Sydney FC meet Melbourne Victory in the A-League Grand Final on Sunday at 5pm.

The Football Media Association is a professional association for women and men working with print, broadcast, online or digital media related to Australian football, established in 2008.