Away sides advance as PS4 NPL Finals Series heats up

Home ground advantage counted for little in the first weekend of this year’s PlayStation 4 (PS4) National Premier Leagues (NPL) Finals Series with the four teams that advanced to the Semi Finals of the competition all winning on the road.

Players from Edgeworth Eagles FC (NNSW), Heidelberg United FC (VIC), Brisbane Strikers (QLD), and APIA Leichhardt Tigers (NSW) ensured their Club’s progression to the final four of the PS4 NPL 2017 Finals Series with victories interstate.

Three of the four matches in the first week of the PS4 NPL 2017 Finals Series were decided in regulation time, while Bayswater City SC were eliminated by Heidelberg in extra-time after the score was locked at 1-1 after 90 minutes in Western Australia.

Adelaide City FC (SA) 0 – 1 APIA Leichhardt Tigers (NSW)
The first match of the PS4 NPL 2017 Finals Series was played on Saturday afternoon in South Australia as Adelaide City FC hosted APIA Leichhardt Tigers at Adelaide City Park in Oakden. Midfielder Tasuku Sekiya’s 73rd minute goal for the Tigers settled what was a hard-fought contest between the two former National Soccer League sides.
Downloadable match highlights:

Canberra Olympic (ACT) 1 – 4 Edgeworth Eagles FC (NNSW)
The attention of PS4 NPL Finals Series fans shifted to the nation’s capital later Saturday as Canberra Olympic hosted Edgeworth Eagles FC. Kieran Sanders gave Damian Zane’s Eagles the lead in the 15th minute, before Jordan Tsekenis levelled proceedings 11 minutes later. Just before half time Josh Evans put Edgeworth back in front, and in the second stanza former Hyundai A-League golden boot winner Daniel McBreen bagged a brace to help the Eagles secure hosting rights for the Semi Finals.
Downloadable match highlights:

South Hobart FC (TAS) 2 – 4 Brisbane Strikers (QLD)

The first of Sunday’s Elimination Finals was held on the apple isle as South Hobart FC welcomed Brisbane Strikers to Darcy Street. In front of just shy of 1,000 fans the Strikers took the lead in the eighth minute when Ryan Palmer found the back of the net. Prolific attacker Jake McLean doubled Brisbane’s advantage just two minutes later, before Jeremy Stewart made it 0-3 to the Queenslanders just after the hour mark. Ken Morton’s Tasmanians rallied late in the game as a Jake Turner brace made the score 2-3, however McLean’s second of the match in the second minute of added time ensured that Brisbane will be booking flights to Williamtown Airport to take on Edgeworth in the Semi Finals.
Downloadable match highlights:

Bayswater City SC (WA) 1 – 3 Heidelberg United FC (VIC)*

The last of the Elimination Finals matches was held on Sunday afternoon at Perth Plasterboard Centre Stadium in Western Australia. Ken Athiu bagged the first goal of the game for the ‘Bergers’ in the 36th minute, but Bayswater were level at the break after Gustavo Marulanda restored parity to the contest in time added on. The score remained at 1-1 until the end of normal time, meaning extra-time – and perhaps penalties – would be needed to separate the teams. Heidelberg rose to the occasion in the first 15 minutes of extra-time, scoring twice via key forward Athiu, as well as Sean Ellis. George Katsakis’ side’s victory ensured that they will now play host to APIA Leichhardt Tigers in the Semi Finals.
*Match decided after extra-time
Downloadable match highlights:

What’s next?
Edgeworth Eagles FC will host Brisbane Strikers, and Heidelberg United FC will host APIA Leichhardt Tigers in the Semi Finals of the PS4 NPL Finals Series this weekend. Match details regarding date, venue and kick-off times for the Semi Finals will be announced on


Tickets for both Semi Finals will be available at the venues on match day, while every match in the PS4 NPL 2017 Finals Series will be streamed LIVE via, as well as on PS4 consoles and the official Hyundai A-League Facebook page (

PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2017 Elimination Finals Venue Kick-Off (local) Kick-Off (AEST)
Match 1 – Saturday 16 September 2017 Adelaide City FC (Football Federation SA) 0:1 APIA Leichhardt Tigers (Football NSW) Adelaide City Park, Oakden, SA 2:00pm 2:30pm
Match 2 – Sunday 17 September 2017 Bayswater City (Football West) 1:3
Heidelberg United FC (Football Federation Victoria) Perth Plasterboard Centre Stadium, Inglewood, WA 12:00pm 2:00pm
Match 3 – Saturday 16 September 2017 Canberra Olympic (Capital Football) 1:4 Edgeworth Eagles FC (Northern NSW Football) Deakin Stadium, Deakin, ACT 5:00pm 5:00pm
Match 4 – Sunday 17 September 2017 South Hobart FC (Football Federation Tasmania) 2:4 Brisbane Strikers (Football Queensland) Darcy St, South Hobart, TAS 12:30pm 12:30pm
PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2017 Semi Finals
Match 5 – Saturday 23 September 2017 or Sunday 24 September 2017 Heidelberg United FC (Football Federation Victoria) vs APIA Leichhardt Tigers (Football NSW) TBC TBC TBC
Match 6 – Saturday 23 September 2017 or Sunday 24 September 2017 Edgeworth Eagles FC (Northern NSW Football) vs Brisbane Strikers (Football Queensland) TBC TBC TBC
PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2017 Grand Final
Match 7 – Saturday 30 September 2017 or Sunday 1 October 2017 Winner of Match 5 vs Winner of
Match 6
Host to be determined by points system TBC TBC


To determine the host Member Federation clubs for the Semi Finals and Grand Final, the following points system will apply.

  • Win within normal time (i.e. 90 minutes) = 3 points
  • Win during extra time = 2 points
  • Win on penalties = 1 point
  • Goals scored by home team (excluding penalty shootouts) = 3 points
  • Goals scored by away team (excluding penalty shootouts) = 4 points
  • Goals conceded (excluding penalty shootouts) = -1 point
  • Yellow cards = -1 point; and
  • Red cards = -3 points

The host of the Grand Final will be determined by the club with the highest accumulation of points across the Elimination Finals and Semi Finals.

PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues 2017 Elimination Finals Review:

Adelaide City FC 0
APIA Leichhardt Tigers 1
(Sekiya 73’)
Saturday 16 September 2017

Adelaide City Park, Oakden, South Australia

Referee: Rick Schnieder

Bayswater City SC 1
(Marulanda 45+2’)
Heidelberg United FC 3
(Athiu 36’, 96’, Ellis 102’)
Sunday 17 September 2017
Perth Plasterboard Centre Stadium, Western Australia
David Bruce
*Match decided after extra-time

Canberra Olympic 1
(Tsekenis 26’)
Edgeworth Eagles FC 4 (Sanders 15, Evans 44’, McBreen 75’, 89’)
Saturday 16 September 2017
Deakin Stadium, Deakin, Australian Capital Territory
: Luke Withell

South Hobart FC 2
(Turner 72’, 78’)
Brisbane Strikers 4 (Palmer 8’, McLean 10’, 90+2’, Stewart 61’)
Sunday 17 September 2017
Darcy Street, South Hobart, Tasmania
Brenton Kopra